Conference Room 162CTLE Classroom 380CTLE Conference Room 374CTLE Open Lab 369Library Classroom 163Open Classroom 269Special Collections Room 382
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Meeting rooms 

Information about meeting spaces available in the Library Technology Center.
Last update: Nov 17th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.ngcsu.edu/meeting_rooms  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Special Collections Room 382            Print Page
  
 

For More Infomation

For more information about arranging library co-sponsored programs, contact:

Shawn Tonner
Director of Library Services
706.864.1514
sctonner@ngcsu.edu

For more information about arranging community programs, contact:

Office of Public Service
and Continuing Education
706-864-1918

 
 

Purpose

The primary purpose of the Special Collections Room is to provide research space for users of the library’s rare book and archival collections. The secondary purpose is to provide space for library sponsored or library co-sponsored programs. The Special Collections Room also provides space for programs sponsored by the Office of Academic Affairs or the Office of the President. Local community use of the Special Collection Room is permitted and coordinated by the Office of Public Service and Continuing Education at 706.864.1918.

Due to the complex set-up and re-set of the room and the value of the collections stored within, only a limited number of library programs can be sponsored each year. Proposals for library co-sponsored programs should be submitted no less than (4) weeks in advance of the proposed event to provide for adequate time for review of the proposal, promotion of the event, and logistical planning.

Typically, the library co-sponsors programs that:

  • focus on information literacy
  • provide opportunities for NGCSU faculty and students to present research/creative projects of interest to a broad cross-section of the campus community
  • provide opportunities for published authors or artists to discuss their work
  • feature recognized, expert speakers of interest to a broad cross-section of the campus

The library does not co-sponsor programs that:

  • potentially disrupt students and faculty using the library
  • are scheduled outside the library’s regular hours unless managed by Continuing Education
  • serve primarily as social gatherings
  • are regularly scheduled or ongoing classes
  • are regularly scheduled or ongoing meetings
  • could overwhelm the room capacity or library resources needed to manage the program
  • serve food to attendees. Aramark beverage service is permitted.
 

Technology

• Set-up for 100 seats theater style • Microphone/voice amplification
or 24 seats at conference tables • Telephone : 706.867.2925
• Podium
• Projection system

 

Requests for audiovisual support should be made at the time of event approval, but no less than 3 business days prior to the event. If onsite support is needed for the entire event or if it is needed outside of normal University business hours, there may be a fee charged to cover staff expenses. Contact the IIT Help Desk at 706.864.1922, https://helpdesk.ngcsu.edu/ or go to room 164 in the Library Technology Center.

 

Required Information for Library Co-sponsored Program Proposals

 

Proposals for library co-sponsored programs must be submitted in writing to the Director of Library Services no less than four (4) weeks prior to the proposed date. Co-sponsorship decisions will be within one week after receipt of the proposal. Proposals should include:

  • Name of the program
  • Proposed date and time
  • Intended audience Note: all library co-sponsored programs are open to the public
  • Purpose of the event
  • Anticipated maximum and minimum number of attendees
  • Contact (e-mail, phone, and fax) information
  • Send proposal to:

    Shawn Tonner
    Director of Library Services
    706.864.1514
    sctonner@ngcsu.edu

 
 

Special Collections Room

Special Collections Room

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait