Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Information Literacy  Tags: il information_literacy qep  

Information about the Library's information literacy initiatives.
Last update: Aug 14th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.ngcsu.edu/IL  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Library Instruction Menu             Print Page
  
 

1. KNOW - The information literate student determines the nature and extent of the information needed.

Tag  Instruction Menu Est. Teaching/
Practice Time
NGCSU Outcome/Measures
1.3 Background sources 20 minutes 1.3 Explores general information sources to increase familiarity with the topic (see related 1.4)
1.4 Background sources;
Articulate research question and focus
20 minutes
15 minutes
1.4 Defines or modifies the information need to achieve a manageable focus (see related 1.3, 1.5, 1.16, 3.24)
1.5 Brainstorming: identify keywords, vocabulary development 15 minutes 1.5 Identifies key concepts and terms that describe the information need (see related 1.4, 2.6, 2.7)
1.7+ Information Context 20 minutes 1.7 Knows how information is formally and informally produced, organized, and disseminated (see related 1.8, 1.9, 1.10, 1.11, 3.7, 5.2)
1.8 Recognizes that knowledge can be organized into disciplines that influence the way information is accessed (see related 1.7, 1.9, 1.10, 1.11, 3.7, 5.2)
1.9 Identifies the value and differences of potential resources in a variety of formats (e.g., multimedia, database, website, data set, audio/visual, book) (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.10, 1.11, 3.7, 5.2)
1.10 Popular vs. scholarly periodicals; peer-review defined
Reading scholarly research articles
10 minutes

15 minutes
1.10 Identifies the purpose and audience of potential resources (e.g., popular vs. scholarly, current vs. historical) (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 3.7)
1.11 Primary vs. secondary sources 15 minutes 1.11 Differentiates between primary and secondary sources, recognizing how their use and importance vary with each discipline (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 1.13)
1.13 GIL Express, ILL 15 minutes 1.13 Determines the availability of needed information and makes decisions on broadening the information seeking process beyond local resources (e.g., interlibrary loan; using resources at other locations; obtaining images, videos, text, or sound) (see related 2.13)
1.15 Research method/strategy (bibliographic) 50 minutes 1.15 Defines a realistic overall plan and timeline to acquire the needed information (see related 2.3, 2.4, 2.5)
1.16 Articulate research question and focus 15 minutes 1.16 Reviews the initial information need to clarify, revise, or refine the question (see related 1.4, 3.24)
1.17 Evaluation of Information 30 minutes 1.17 Describes criteria used to make information decisions and choices (see related 3.4, 3.6, 3.15)
 

2. ACCESS–The information literate student accesses needed information effectively and efficiently.

Tag  Instruction Menu Est. Teaching/
Practice Time
NGCSU Outcome/Measures
2.3

2.4
Information Context

Database searching intro
20 minutes

30 minutes
2.3 Investigates the scope, content, and organization of information retrieval systems (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 1.10, 1.11, 3.7, 5.2)
2.4 Selects efficient and effective approaches for accessing the information needed from the investigative method or information retrieval system (see related 2.3)
2.5 Research method/strategy (bibliographic) 50 minutes 2.5 Develops a research plan appropriate to the investigative method (see related 1.15, 2.3)
2.6+ Brainstorming to identify keywords; search vocabulary 15 minutes 2.6 Identifies keywords, synonyms and related terms for the information needed (see related 1.5, 2.7)
2.7 Selects controlled vocabulary specific to the discipline or information retrieval source (see related 1.5, 2.6)
2.8


2.9



2.10


2.11
General Database Searching-intro

General Database Searching-advanced

Specialized Database searching

Library Catalog
20 minutes each

20 minutes each

30 minutes each

20 minutes
2.8 Constructs a search strategy using appropriate commands for the information retrieval system selected (e.g., Boolean operators, truncation, and proximity for search engines; internal organizers such as indexes for books) (see related 2.3, 2.4, 2.9, 2.10, 2.11)
2.9 Implements the search strategy in various information retrieval systems using different user interfaces and search engines, with different command languages, protocols, and search parameters (see related 2.3, 2.4, 2.8, 2.10, 2.11)
2.10 Implements the search using investigative protocols appropriate to the discipline (see related 2.3, 2.4, 2.8, 2.9, 2.11)
2.11 Uses various search systems to retrieve information in a variety of formats (see related 2.3, 2.4, 2.8, 2.9, 2.10)
2.12 Library Catalog
Microfilm
Paper index
20 minutes each 2.12 Uses various classification schemes and other systems (e.g., call number systems or indexes) to locate information resources within the library or to identify specific sites for physical exploration
2.13 Gil Express
Interlibrary Loan
Journals A-Z
10 minutes 2.13 Uses specialized online or in person services available at the institution to retrieve information needed (e.g., interlibrary loan/document delivery, professional associations, institutional research offices, community resources, experts and practitioners) (see related 1.13)
2.15 Selection of Sources 20 minutes 2.15 Assesses the quantity, quality, and relevance of the search results to determine whether alternative information retrieval systems or investigative methods should be utilized (see related 3.17, 3.24, 3.25)
2.20 Citations—distinguish book, article, and media citations 15 minutes 2.20 Differentiates between the types of sources cited and understands the elements and correct syntax of a citation for a wide range of resources (see related 1.9, 5.12)
 

3. EVALUATE–The information literate student evaluates information and its sources critically and incorporates selected information into his or her knowledge base and value system.

Tag Instruction Menu Est. Teaching/
Practice Time
NGCSU Outcome/Measures
3.4

3.6
Evaluation of Information

Web Evaluation
30 minutes

30 minutes
3.4 Examines and compares information from various sources in order to evaluate reliability, validity, accuracy, authority, timeliness, and point of view or bias (see related 1.17, 3.6, 3.15, 3.17)
3.6 Recognizes prejudice, deception, or manipulation (see related 1.17, 3.4, 3.15, 3.17)
3.7

3.15
Information Context

Evaluation of Information
20 minutes

30 minutes
3.7 Recognizes the cultural, physical, or other context within which the information was created and understands the impact of context on interpreting the information (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 1.10, 5.2)
3.15 Determines probable accuracy by questioning the source of the data, the limitations of the information gathering tools or strategies, and the reasonableness of the conclusions (see related 1.4, 1.17, 3.6)
3.17 Selection of Sources 20 minutes 3.17 Selects information that provides evidence for the topic (see related 2.15, 3.25)
3.24 Articulate research question and focus 15 minutes 3.24 Reviews search strategy and incorporates additional concepts as necessary (see related 2.15, 3.25)
3.25 Selection of Sources 20 minutes 3.25 Reviews information retrieval sources used and expands to include others as needed (see related 2.15, 3.17, 3.24)

 

4. USE--The information literate student, individually or as a member of a group, uses information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose.

 

These learning outcomes are addressed by classroom instructors, not by the library.

 

5. ETHICAL/LEGAL--The information literate student understands many of the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and accesses and uses information ethically and legally.

 

Tag Instruction Menu Est. Teaching/
Practice Time
NGCSU Outcome/Measures
5.2 Information Context 20 minutes 5.2 Identifies and discusses issues related to free vs. fee-based access to information (see related 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 1.10 3.7)
5.12 Citations: distinguish book, article, and media citations 15 minutes 5.12 Selects an appropriate documentation style and uses it consistently to cite sources (see related 2.20)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait